You Are Here: Home » Music » Tigers of Junction Street EP Review

Tigers of Junction Street EP Review

IMG_6392Release Date: 24February 2014

EP Track Listing:

-       Incarnation
-       The Deception
-       Cold Winter
-       Interlude
-       Closed Doors On Distant Shores

Having formed in 2011, Tigers of Junction Street have been touring England since then and are now on the verge of their debut EP being released. The Buckinghamshire based band is made up of five members, Josh Elliot on vocals, Ash Whitelock and James Wrigley on guitar, Tom Newey on Bass and James Burton on drums.

If electronic rock is your kind of thing, then I would highly recommend checking this self-titled EP out as it displays some promising prospects. If you are not a follower of tech-rock or any strand of music related and you’re looking to branch out, I think Tigers of Junction Street have created an inviting well balanced blend of electronic and rock elements that doesn’t stray too far into heavy metal. And if for nothing else, it is worth a look for the pristine album artwork alone.

It is immediately apparent what genre the band are aiming for when listening to the tracks. With progressive elements spanning near to post-rock and metalcore, the electronic aspects in their songs act as a foundation of their sound. As ever, their style could be argued to echo elements from other bands (as the band express themselves), and brought together to create their own individual style. Whilst listening I envisioned the music as the lovechild of Attack Attack! and Explosions in the Sky.

Josh Elliot’s vocals are very striking and with many of the bands emerging close to this genre such as post-hardcore, the song structure, down tuning, double bass and pinch harmonics are all elements that make many of these bands undistinguishable. I’m sure a singer would hope their vocals were a unique enough contribution that would help the act stand apart, for example Sleeping with Sirens. I would say that in this EP, it is the case. His vocal range is wide enough to allow the bands aim of melodic, slower and softer aspects as well as faster, heavier and high-energy areas, which for this type of music is essential.

The band display great skill on their respective instruments and all every component of their tracks give the songs an exciting depth and they all compliment each other. I always appreciate hearing keys during the breakdown of a song from a heavier genre. In saying that, perhaps my tastes are taking charge with this statement, but I feel the breakdowns in these songs are their highlights, and the sections of exhibited skill outweigh the desired melody. And the songs seem to follow a similar structure that some may find becomes a tad repetitive. But fortunately I am a servant to this genre of music and I’m a fan of the structure.

The lyrics feel heartfelt and carry enough meaning and metaphor for their power not to be lost in amongst the music. All the contributing elements made this EP a very enjoyable listen. The Interlude on this EP, is hauntingly reflective and carries a certain energy and purpose and I think reflects the bands style and intention through the emotion in evokes.  The recording is faultless and it’s very hard to resist the urge to nod along (day time head bang), whilst listening to the songs. I’d say the future’s bright for the Tigers. Check out their video for Incarnation below. Then check out their EP. Check it.

About The Author

Number of Entries : 16