You Are Here: Home » General Thoughts » Mount Kimbie release new album ‘Cold Spring Fault Less Youth’

Mount Kimbie release new album ‘Cold Spring Fault Less Youth’

On Monday this week the London duo comprising of Dominic Maker and Kai Campos – better known to the music world as Mount Kimbie – released their second album Cold Spring Fault Less Youth. The eagerly anticipated release features 11 new tracks, including their most recent single Made To Stray, and showcases the progression for the artists’ since their highly successful Crooks & Lovers release back in 2010.

Many of the tracks are brilliantly made, echoing comments made by the pair about how they wanted an album that would “transfer to the stage more easily” after developing a passion for performing live over the past two years. Two tracks on the album feature British singer/songwriter King Krule, who’s dark, depressing vocals almost ruin these tracks, saved only by the instrumentals behind them. When listening to these songs once or twice they are bearable, however when the album is played more his unusual voice becomes quite irritating. Apart from this there are many songs on the album that go further to show how talented the producers are, most notably in tracks Blood and Form, Lie Near and Fall Out.

The album is available to purchase from several websites including iTunes, Amazon and Rough Trade, and is also available to stream in full via NPR here. Meanwhile, read on for a song-by-song review.


1. Home Recording 04:36
The first song is littered with numerous synth patterns and eerie echoing vocals, providing a perfect prelude to showcase the fresh material the artists have worked on for the album. A soft beat behind the vocals and the addition of a jazzy sounding synth pattern makes the song fresh and deep simultaneously. A great start.

2. You Took Your Time (feat. King Krule) 05:14
You Took Your Time prominently focuses around the dark and deep lyrics of up-and-coming London-based artist King Krule, backed with subtle drums, guitar notes and a winding synth pattern, which adds to the dark feel of the track. The track has a slight hip-hop feel to it, reminiscent of some of Odd Future’s work with how the meaningful lyrics are complimented by the dark instrumentals behind them.

3. Break Well 03:42
Break Well is a track where Mount Kimbie have put their ability of making brilliant long introductions to their best use. Fading in and out with numerous synth patterns, the song sounds completely different when dropped, with a catchy guitar riff and repetitive drums. This is completed with a looped synth pattern, which creates a great track. With it’s abrupt end, 3 minutes and 42 seconds doesn’t seem enough and makes the listener want to play it back again and again.

4. Blood and Form 03:53
Blood and Form has an infectious catchy beat behind it, showcasing the artists’ brilliant ability to put computer music technology to its best use. Accompanied by faded vocals and more simple drum patterns, the song has a familiar sound and is reminiscent of some of the duo’s earlier work from their Crooks & Lovers LP.

5. Made to Stray 04:46
Made To Stray was released as a single a few weeks ago, causing a storm for the pair’s fans and making the album’s set release date seem even further away. The track’s slow build up with increasing different uses of synth patterns and a never ending beat makes it hard not to bob your head up and down to it, while the lyrics add something extra to the track, making it easily one of the best on the album.


6. So Many Times, So Many Ways 04:07
The track starts with a developing synth pattern, which gets louder and clearer as it progresses, accompanied by a quick guitar riff and a burst of drums, it is both catchy and sombre. Although the track is only just over 4 minutes long, the scope of sounds within makes it seem like it goes on forever. It progresses further with winding patterns, and is the perfect track to chill out to at the end of a long day.

7. Lie Near 03:24
Another track that showcases the pair’s talent behind a computer, with the addition of a drum kit, which gives the track ‘live’ feel. Simple laptop speakers do not do this track any justice – make sure you plug in your headphones/speakers to get the most from this one.

8. Meter, Pale, Tone (feat. King Krule) 03:33
Another collaboration with King Krule comes in the form of Meter, Pale, Tone, which is slightly different to his appearance on You Took Your Time. The use of instruments and sounds behind his vocals are a tad more upbeat, giving a catchier feel to the track, which is only strengthened by the use of traditional drums.

9. Slow 03:19
Slow starts with a bang – another track which heavily features drums and synth patterns, creating a catchy, clappy sound throughout the track. Added to this are Jazz-like patterns that develop into a lighter sound as the track progresses. Its fast beat and use of several instruments really goes far to show Mount Kimbie’s progression since Crooks & Lovers, creating a much deeper, more professional sound.

10. Sullen Ground 03:30
Sullen Ground is a slower, more downbeat track, drawing similarities from some tracks by electronic artist Synkro. Accompanied with whispy lyrics which wind in and out as subtle clicks and knocks repeat in the background, the track keeps the listener involved and is perfect to unwind to.

11. Fall Out 02:42
The last song on their album is just over 2 and a half minutes long, but is definitely by far one of the best songs altogether. Starting with simple piano chords backed with a wind-like synth the track develops with hums and guitar strings, creating a perfect catchy and mellow song. One that could easily be listened to over and over again, it’s another great one to relax and listen to.

About The Author

Music Writer

Number of Entries : 35