Poor Things

Artist: Poor Things

Album: Poor Things

Number of Tracks: 11

Release Date: 28 April 2014

Label: Saraseto Records

Scotland is once again preparing to open its musical floodgates to the world as Poor Things gear up to release their self-titled debut album on 28 April. The single, 1998, will be available from the end of March.

This Glasgow-bred sound has been received well since the release their Hurricane Poor Things EP and now this full length endeavour makes every effort to get the foot of Poor Things’ career one rung higher on the musical ladder.


1. For Edwin Morgan

2. Halcyon Days!

3. Life One Part Two

4. 1998

5. Yes

6. Freezing

7. A Drunk Man Considers the Royal Wedding at Kelvingrove Park

8. Anaconda Man

9. New Best Friends

10. Work

11. Master Of Arts

A little different from the melodic punk we’ve been hearing from across the border of late, Poor Things have produced something that gets right to the roughly cut roots of indie. For Edwin Morgan creates a breathy and floating introduction. A collection of melodies tumble over each other, never really breaking themselves into sections but just becoming one flowing, constantly evolving collection of layers.

While nothing really replicates this ever-moving melodic singularity from now on, Poor Things have now identified the guitar as their main weapon in their efforts to carve themselves a signature sound. It’s this that dictates the sudden upswing of tempo in Halcyon Days! and takes us back into the late 20th Century, with the buzzing warble of 1998.

It takes a few tracks for the album to realise it fully, but once struck upon, Poor Things clearly took this sound and ran with it.  The calibre of writing improves from 1998 onwards and the nostalgia generated by shrill electric guitar melodies opens up many a wormhole to the past when layered over a stroppy rebel 90s rock vocal drawl. All this is brought to an elegant finish as a shot of pre-emo angst is injected into Work before the bright finishing flourish of Master Of Arts.

Poor Things’ debut is the epitome of a band finding their feet in the world of full length recordings. While first impressions have the potential to instil mixed feelings, by the end, a nostalgic throw back to 90s garage band culture is well established. For the kids of the 90s, Poor Things is sure to pluck at a few heart strings. For those of the last decade or so, this album is set to become a highly educational tool.

For more on Poor Things you can visit their:

Facebook | Twitter | Record Label

About The Author

Currently a 3rd year Journalism student at the University of the West of England. Real life just around the corner and getting excited about new Journalism opportunities! The more music involved, the better.

Number of Entries : 64